In short
- In label trials, hair loss affected 3.3% of adults on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs 1% on placebo, and 5.8% on Wegovy 7.2 mg.
- On Zepbound, 4% to 5% reported hair loss vs 1% on placebo, and it was far more common in women (7.1%) than in men (0.5%).
- Both labels say hair loss was associated with weight reduction. In Zepbound’s weight trials, no one on the drug stopped treatment because of it.
- The Ozempic and Mounjaro labels list hair loss (alopecia) only among post-marketing reports, which give no reliable rate.
- The usual pattern is telogen effluvium: diffuse shedding that tends to show 3 to 4 months after a trigger such as sudden weight loss and is usually reversible.
Hair loss is a known but uncommon side effect of GLP-1 weight-loss drugs: in label trials it affected 3.3% of adults on Wegovy 2.4 mg and 4% to 5% on Zepbound, vs about 1% on placebo. Both labels say it was associated with weight reduction, and most cases look like telogen effluvium, a temporary shedding that can follow fast weight loss and usually grows back. Women reported it far more often than men.
Hair loss rates on the labels
Each label compares people on the drug with people on a placebo (an inactive shot) in the same trials, so the gap between the two columns is the useful number.
Scroll sideways to see the full table
| Drug and dose | Hair loss on drug | On placebo | Women vs men on drug |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wegovy 2.4 mg, adults | 3.3% | 1% | 4% vs 0.9% |
| Wegovy 7.2 mg, adults | 5.8% | 1.0% | 8.4% vs 0.2% |
| Wegovy 2.4 mg, ages 12 and up | 4% | 0% | Not reported |
| Zepbound 5 / 10 / 15 mg | 5% / 4% / 5% | 1% | 7.1% vs 0.5% |
| Ozempic, Mounjaro | Post-marketing reports only | No rate | Not reported |
Sources: Wegovy label section 6.1 (rev. 06/2026); Zepbound label section 6.1 (rev. 08/2026); Ozempic label and Mounjaro label section 6.2.
A few details stand out:
- In the Wegovy 7.2 mg trials, hair loss led to 1 permanent stop, 1 pause and 5 dose reductions at 7.2 mg, and none of these on 2.4 mg or placebo.
- On Zepbound, no one stopped treatment because of hair loss; one person on placebo did.
- Placebo rates were higher in women too (2% on Wegovy’s placebo, 1.3% on Zepbound’s), so some shedding happens in trials without the drug.
Does Ozempic cause hair loss?
Ozempic is semaglutide approved for type 2 diabetes. Its label lists alopecia under post-marketing experience: reports sent in after approval from a population of uncertain size, which the label says can’t reliably give a frequency or prove the drug caused them. Wegovy is the same drug, given at 2.4 mg or 7.2 mg a week for weight, and its trials give the closest numbers: 3.3% on 2.4 mg vs 1% on placebo.
Does Zepbound or Mounjaro cause hair loss?
Zepbound and Mounjaro are both tirzepatide. Zepbound’s weight trials found hair loss in 4% to 5% of adults vs 1% on placebo, with 7.1% of women affected vs 0.5% of men. Mounjaro, the diabetes brand, lists alopecia among post-marketing reports only.
Outside the trials, a 2026 meta-analysis of drug-safety reports found a hair-loss reporting signal for both semaglutide (reporting odds ratio 2.46) and tirzepatide (1.73) (Viquez Burboa et al., 2026). Reporting odds ratios compare how often hair loss is reported for one drug against others in a safety database. They flag a link but can’t give a rate.
Why it happens: telogen effluvium after weight loss
Telogen effluvium is a common, non-scarring type of diffuse shedding caused by a temporary disruption of the hair growth cycle. It can be triggered by stresses on the body such as illness, surgery, childbirth, nutritional deficiencies or medications, and it is typically reversible, with gradual regrowth (Bergfeld and Mendez, Cleveland Clinic J Med 2026). Sudden weight loss is one of the classic triggers (Chien Yin et al., 2021).
Timing is the main clue. Diffuse shedding tends to show about 3 to 4 months after the triggering event (Malkud 2015), so hair loss often begins well after weight loss has started. After bariatric surgery, a similar pattern is seen: hair loss in the first three months is often telogen effluvium, while loss linked to nutritional deficiencies tends to start around six months after surgery (Cohen-Kurzrock and Cohen, 2021).
Studies in GLP-1 users point the same way:
- The 2026 meta-analysis pooled 17 studies covering 1,091,743 patient exposures. In 3 cohort studies, GLP-1 users had 1.40 times the odds of non-scarring hair loss. At 12 months, the adjusted odds were 1.76 for telogen effluvium and 1.64 for pattern hair loss (androgenetic alopecia), with no significant link to alopecia areata. The authors think weight-loss-related nutrient shortfalls drive most of it.
- A 2026 review found rates of 3% to 7% in controlled trials and over 70% in some real-world groups. It named female sex and weight loss above 10% as the most consistent predictors, and described the shedding as mostly temporary (Leite Junior and Ribeiro Junior, 2026).
The placebo-controlled label numbers are the most reliable guide to how much the drug itself adds.
What helps
These steps are general and don’t replace advice from your prescriber.
- Don’t stop your medication on your own. The meta-analysis authors advise against stopping early. Talk to your prescriber about the shedding first.
- Rule out other causes. Finding the cause of telogen effluvium means a careful history and lab tests to exclude thyroid and other hormone problems, nutritional deficiencies and autoimmune conditions (Malkud 2015).
- Eat to avoid deficiencies. A 2025 advisory from four obesity and nutrition societies lists preventing nutrient deficiencies and protecting muscle through diet and resistance training as priorities during GLP-1 treatment (Mozaffarian et al., 2025). Our GLP-1 diet guide has more.
- Give it time. Telogen effluvium usually reverses, but regrowth is gradual.
- Read the minoxidil label before you buy. The women’s 5% minoxidil foam label says not to use it if your hair loss is sudden or patchy, you have no family history of hair loss, or you don’t know the reason for it (DailyMed). That describes a lot of GLP-1 shedding, which is a reason to get a diagnosis first.
When to see a hair-loss provider
See a clinician if shedding keeps going for months after your weight has settled, comes out in patches, or shows a pattern such as a widening part or a thinning crown. Pattern hair loss (androgenetic alopecia) is a different condition from telogen effluvium, and the meta-analysis found it more common in GLP-1 users too.
Pattern hair loss has FDA-approved treatments. Topical minoxidil is sold without a prescription to regrow hair on the top of the scalp, in men’s and women’s products. Finasteride 1 mg is approved for male pattern hair loss in men only (Propecia label). Our hair loss hub explains the options, and our lists of the best hair loss treatments for women and the best hair loss treatments for men compare online providers.
Safety: the boxed warning comes first
Hair loss sits among the common side effects, not the serious warnings. The most serious warning on every GLP-1 label in this guide is the boxed warning for thyroid C-cell tumors:
- Semaglutide caused thyroid C-cell tumors in mice and rats, and tirzepatide did in rats. Whether these drugs do the same in people is unknown.
- They are not for anyone with a personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC) or with Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia syndrome type 2 (MEN 2).
- Tell your clinician about a lump in your neck, trouble swallowing, shortness of breath or hoarseness that won’t go away.
The labels’ other warnings include pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, low blood sugar and kidney injury from dehydration. Our GLP-1 side effects guide covers them, and our Wegovy side effects guide goes deeper on that label.
A note on compounded GLP-1s
The rates above come from trials of FDA-approved products. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not Wegovy or Zepbound, and not generics of them. A compounding pharmacy prepares them, and they aren’t FDA-approved, so these label tables don’t describe them.
The bottom line
GLP-1 hair loss is real but uncommon in trials: 3.3% to 5.8% on Wegovy and 4% to 5% on Zepbound, against about 1% on placebo, and mostly in women. It usually follows weight loss by a few months, looks like telogen effluvium and grows back with time. Keep taking your medication while you talk to your prescriber, get checked for other causes, eat to avoid deficiencies, and see a hair-loss provider if shedding lasts, comes in patches or follows a pattern.
Highest-scored weight loss programs
The three weight loss programs with our highest overall scores right now.
- Safety: GLP-1 medications carry a boxed warning for thyroid C-cell tumors. Read the safety information
- 02Measured
Low compounded prices, plus prior authorization help for brand-name GLP-1s
Rated 9.0 out of 10, Excellent
From $199/mo
Visit site for Measured (opens in a new tab) - 03MEDGm
Labs and video access included, with tablets and brand-name options
Rated 9.0 out of 10, Excellent
From $299/mo
Visit site for MEDGm (opens in a new tab)
Questions, answered
Does Ozempic cause hair loss?
Does Zepbound cause hair loss?
Does Mounjaro cause hair loss?
Does tirzepatide cause hair loss?
Will hair lost on a GLP-1 grow back?
Sources
- Novo Nordisk: Wegovy prescribing information (rev. 06/2026, read Oct 27, 2026)
- Eli Lilly: Zepbound prescribing information (rev. 08/2026, read Oct 27, 2026)
- Eli Lilly: Mounjaro prescribing information (rev. 08/2026, read Oct 27, 2026)
- Novo Nordisk: Ozempic prescribing information (rev. 05/2026, read Oct 27, 2026)
- Viquez Burboa et al., GLP-1 receptor agonists and alopecia, systematic review and meta-analysis, Skin Appendage Disord 2026 (read Oct 27, 2026)
- Leite Junior and Ribeiro Junior, GLP-1 receptor agonists and hair loss, review, Acta Diabetologica 2026 (read Oct 27, 2026)
- Bergfeld and Mendez, Shedding: an updated guide, Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine 2026 (read Oct 27, 2026)
- Chien Yin et al., Telogen effluvium: a review, J Dermatol Sci 2021 (read Oct 27, 2026)
- Malkud, Telogen effluvium: a review, J Clin Diagn Res 2015 (read Oct 27, 2026)
- Cohen-Kurzrock and Cohen, hair loss after bariatric surgery, Cureus 2021 (read Oct 27, 2026)
- Mozaffarian et al., nutritional priorities to support GLP-1 therapy, joint advisory, Am J Clin Nutr 2025 (read Oct 27, 2026)
- Women’s Rogaine 5% minoxidil foam, Drug Facts label, DailyMed (read Oct 27, 2026)
- Propecia (finasteride 1 mg) prescribing information, DailyMed (read Oct 27, 2026)