Skip to content
RxLineup home
RxLineup home

Medications

Tadalafil 5 mg vs 20 mg

Two ways to take the same drug. What the Cialis label says about each dose, how they did in trials, which causes more side effects, and what each costs online.

By the RxLineup editorial team · Fact-checked against provider sites and FDA labels · Updated  · 6 min read

· How we rate

Advertiser disclosure

RxLineup earns a fee when you click a link to a provider and complete a qualifying step. Only providers that pay us appear in our rankings and reviews. Our guides also name providers that don’t pay us, so you can see the whole market.

We don’t cover every program on the market. Prices change often, so confirm the details with the provider before you enroll.

We’re paid when you sign up with a provider through our links. We also name providers that don’t pay us, so you can see the whole market. How we make money

Single pale tablet on a small ceramic saucer

In short

  1. The Cialis label starts as-needed tadalafil at 10 mg, adjusted to 5 mg or 20 mg, no more than once a day. Daily use starts at 2.5 mg and goes up to 5 mg, and 5 mg daily also treats an enlarged prostate (BPH).
  2. In two US trials of 20 mg as needed, erections lasted long enough for intercourse in 50% and 64% of attempts, against 25% and 23% on placebo.
  3. Daily 5 mg raised erectile function scores by 7.0 and 9.7 points in two trials, against 1.2 and 0.9 on placebo.
  4. Headache affected 15% of men on 20 mg as needed and 6% on 5 mg daily in 12-week trials, against 5% on placebo.
  5. As of October 2026, Strut Health charged $3 a dose at 5 mg and $12 at 20 mg as needed; daily tadalafil started at $35 a month at MyDrHank and $40 at Hims.
  6. The current Cialis label says not to split the tablets.

Tadalafil 5 mg is the low dose taken once a day, for erectile dysfunction, an enlarged prostate (BPH) or both, while 10 mg and 20 mg are taken as needed before sex. The Cialis label starts as-needed use at 10 mg and daily use at 2.5 mg, so 20 mg is the top of the as-needed range and 5 mg the top of the daily one.

Both regimens worked in trials. The choice comes down to how often you have sex, whether you also have urinary symptoms, how you handle side effects and what you want to spend. Everything below is from the FDA-approved Cialis label unless a provider is named. For when each dose starts working and how long it lasts, see how long Cialis lasts.

Tadalafil dosage at a glance

Scroll sideways to see the full table

DoseHow it’s takenLabeled forNotes
2.5 mgOnce a dayED (starting daily dose)The daily maximum with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors
5 mgOnce a day, or as neededDaily ED; BPH; ED with BPHThe lower as-needed option if 10 mg causes side effects
10 mgAs needed, up to once a dayED (starting as-needed dose)The cap with mild or moderate liver disease
20 mgAs needed, up to once a dayED (highest dose)More headache and indigestion than lower doses

The Cialis label, revised in March 2026, lists 5 mg, 10 mg and 20 mg tablets and says not to split them; generic tadalafil also comes as a 2.5 mg tablet, according to the National Library of Medicine’s RxNorm database. Take tadalafil with or without food.

Tadalafil 5 mg daily: who it suits

Daily tadalafil is taken at about the same time each day, without timing it to sex. The label starts at 2.5 mg and allows 5 mg, based on how well it works and how well you tolerate it. It was tested in three trials of 12 or 24 weeks with 853 men.

On the 30-point erectile function score, daily 5 mg raised scores by 7.0 points in a 24-week US trial and 9.7 points in a 12-week trial outside the US, against 1.2 and 0.9 on placebo; 2.5 mg raised them by 6.1. In the 6-month study, the effect didn’t fade.

The same 5 mg dose is approved for BPH. In two 12-week trials, the prostate symptom score (0 to 35, higher is worse) fell by 4.8 and 5.6 points on tadalafil, against 2.2 and 3.6 on placebo. The label doesn’t recommend tadalafil with alpha-blockers such as tamsulosin for BPH, because the combination wasn’t adequately studied and can lower blood pressure.

Daily 5 mg suits men who have sex often, would rather not plan around a pill, or also have urinary symptoms. Compare clinics in our daily tadalafil rankings.

Tadalafil 20 mg as needed: who it suits

As-needed tadalafil is taken before sex, no more than once a day. The label starts most men at 10 mg and lets the dose rise to 20 mg or fall to 5 mg. It was tested in 22 trials of up to 24 weeks with more than 4,000 men.

In the two main US trials of 20 mg, erectile function scores rose by 6.9 and 9.3 points, against almost no change on placebo. Men’s erections lasted long enough for intercourse in 50% and 64% of attempts by the end of the trials, against 25% and 23% on placebo. The label says as-needed tadalafil improved erectile function for up to 36 hours after a dose.

The 20 mg dose suits men who have sex now and then, and for whom 10 mg wasn’t enough. If you have sex a few times a month, as-needed doses usually cost less than 30 daily tablets.

Tadalafil 10 mg: the usual starting point

Most men start as-needed tadalafil at 10 mg. Some never need more, and 10 mg is also the highest as-needed dose the label allows for men with moderate kidney disease, mild or moderate liver disease, or strong CYP3A4 inhibitors such as ketoconazole or ritonavir, with longer gaps between doses in some of those cases.

Side effects by dose

From the label’s 12-week placebo-controlled trials:

Scroll sideways to see the full table

Side effectPlacebo5 mg as needed10 mg as needed20 mg as neededPlacebo (daily trials)2.5 mg daily5 mg daily
Headache5%11%11%15%5%3%6%
Indigestion1%4%8%10%2%4%5%
Back pain3%3%5%6%1%3%3%
Muscle pain1%1%4%3%1%2%2%
Flushing1%2%3%3%1%1%3%

Most side effects were more common at the higher as-needed doses, and the daily doses caused fewer than 10 mg or 20 mg. Back pain and muscle aches generally started 12 to 24 hours after a dose and eased within 48 hours. In the as-needed trials, 3.1% of men on 10 mg or 20 mg stopped because of side effects, against 1.4% on placebo; in the daily trials, 4.1% against 2.8%.

The serious warnings are the same at every dose. Never take tadalafil with nitrates in any form or with riociguat, because blood pressure can drop dangerously. Five or more units of alcohol with it can also lower blood pressure. Get emergency care for an erection lasting more than 4 hours, and stop and seek care for sudden loss of vision or hearing.

Who should start lower

The label lowers the dose for some men:

  • Kidneys. With creatinine clearance of 30 to 50 mL/min, as-needed use starts at 5 mg, up to 10 mg once every 48 hours. Below 30 mL/min or on dialysis, the as-needed maximum is 5 mg once every 72 hours, and daily use isn’t recommended.
  • Liver. With mild or moderate liver disease, as-needed doses shouldn’t exceed 10 mg a day, and daily use needs caution. With severe liver disease, tadalafil isn’t recommended.
  • Other medicines. With strong CYP3A4 inhibitors, the as-needed maximum is 10 mg once every 72 hours and the daily maximum is 2.5 mg.
  • Alpha-blockers. For ED, you should be stable on the alpha-blocker first and start tadalafil at the lowest dose.

What each dose costs online

Prices on each provider’s own site, as of October 2026:

ProviderOptionPrice
Strut HealthAs needed, 10 doses a month5 mg $30 ($3 a dose); 10 mg $60 ($6); 20 mg $120 ($12)
TRT Nation20 mg tablets$99.99 for 30 (about $3.33 each)
KeepsDaily or as neededFrom $4.80 a dose, billed every 3, 6 or 12 months
Rex MDAs neededFrom $6 a tablet; brand-name Cialis from $29 a tablet
MyDrHankAs needed or dailyFrom $30 a month as needed, from $35 daily; strength and tablet count not stated
HimsDailyFrom $40 a month
RxSpan MDNot stated$89 a month; strength, dose count and daily or as-needed use not stated
Bodybuilding.com Health+Daily$115 a month; strength not stated

MyDrHank doesn’t say clearly whether its tablets are FDA-approved generics or compounded, and RxSpan MD and Bodybuilding.com Health+ don’t state it either. At Strut, a 20 mg dose costs four times a 5 mg dose, but per tablet the gap can be small elsewhere: TRT Nation’s 20 mg tablets work out to about $3.33 each. At that price, four 20 mg doses a month work out to about $13 of a $99.99 pack, against $35 to $40 for a month of daily tablets at MyDrHank or Hims. If you have sex most days, the daily plan narrows that gap. For the terms behind each price, see what Cialis costs and where generic Cialis is cheapest.

The bottom line

Tadalafil 5 mg is the daily dose, for ED, BPH or both; 10 mg and 20 mg are the as-needed doses, taken before sex no more than once a day. Both worked well in trials, and side effects were lowest on the daily doses and highest at 20 mg. Daily tadalafil suits frequent sex or urinary symptoms; as-needed 10 mg or 20 mg is usually cheaper for occasional use. Don’t split tablets, and check kidney, liver and medicine limits with your clinician. More on tadalafil, in our ED provider rankings and on the ED hub.

Highest-scored erectile dysfunction providers

The three erectile dysfunction providers with our highest overall scores right now.

  1. 01

    Our top pick for October 2026

    MyDrHank

    Low monthly prices with ongoing messaging

    Rated 8.2 out of 10, Very good

  2. 02
    Happy Head

    Treating hair loss and ED with one daily capsule

    Rated 7.8 out of 10, Good

  3. 03
    RxSpan MD

    Vardenafil with round-the-clock messaging

    Rated 7.8 out of 10, Good

See all rankings

Questions, answered

Is tadalafil 5 mg strong enough?

As a daily dose, yes for many men: in two trials, daily 5 mg raised erectile function scores by 7.0 and 9.7 points on a 30-point scale, against about 1 point on placebo. Taken only before sex, 5 mg is the low end of the as-needed range, used when 10 mg causes side effects.

Can I take 20 mg of tadalafil every day?

Not as an ED regimen in the label. Daily tadalafil for ED is 2.5 mg or 5 mg, and as-needed doses up to 20 mg are limited to one a day. If you want daily use, ask your clinician about the 5 mg regimen rather than taking 20 mg every day.

What is the Cialis dosage for BPH?

5 mg once a day at about the same time, whether or not you also have ED. If you start it together with finasteride for BPH, the label recommends it for up to 26 weeks. Cialis isn’t recommended with alpha-blockers for BPH.

Can I split a 20 mg tadalafil tablet?

The Cialis label, revised in March 2026, says not to split the tablets and to take the entire dose. If you need a different strength, ask for it to be prescribed: tadalafil tablets come in 2.5 mg, 5 mg, 10 mg and 20 mg.

Is tadalafil 10 mg enough?

It is the label’s starting dose for as-needed use, and many men stay on it. Your clinician can raise it to 20 mg or lower it to 5 mg depending on how well it works and your side effects. Some conditions cap you at 10 mg, including moderate kidney disease and mild or moderate liver disease.

Sources

  1. Cialis (tadalafil) prescribing information (Eli Lilly, DailyMed, rev. 3/2026)
  2. Strut Health: tadalafil prices (read Oct 18, 2026)
  3. TRT Nation: sexual health (read Oct 18, 2026)
  4. Rex MD: our medications (read Oct 18, 2026)
  5. Keeps: tadalafil (read Oct 18, 2026)
  6. Hims: tadalafil (read Oct 18, 2026)
  7. MyDrHank: daily tadalafil (read Oct 26, 2026)
  8. MyDrHank: generic tadalafil (read Oct 26, 2026)
  9. Bodybuilding.com Health+: daily tadalafil (read Oct 26, 2026)
  10. RxSpan MD: sexual health (read Oct 26, 2026)
  11. NLM RxNorm: tadalafil products and strengths (checked Oct 27, 2026)

Get the RxLineup Letter

Peptide breakthroughs, new studies and what they mean for you, analysed in plain English with a source for every claim.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy policy.

Medications

How long does Cialis last?

When tadalafil starts working, how long the window stays open, how daily dosing changes the picture, and what age, kidneys and other medicines do to it.

6 min read

Compare every ED provider side by side

See every ED provider’s score, monthly price and fine print on one page, ordered by our published rating method.